Education Career Services

February 27, 2009

Is high unemployment the new normal?

For the past two weeks I have not read the newspaper, hoping that if I did not read the news, bad news would not occur.  Go figure, I was wrong.

hot-cocoa

This morning, over bagels and hot cocoa, I happened to spot the front page: “Unemployment rate spikes to 5 million.”  Not too worry, I only read the title and quickly turned away…unfortunately this does not make things any better so I continued to glance at other highlights.  “Space shuttle to end operations by the end of next year,” this was too much to handle.

 

Thinking, as I left the building: “are we, as a nation prepared?”  I’m not talking about the economy…as a career coach and professional writer; I drill down to the career professionals who support the economy.  Is there was something we can do to push the funk out of the equation and get back to normal…then another thought entered, perhaps we are entering a new stage of normalcy?

 

Is high unemployment the new normal?  That is a question worthy of discussion.  Here’s another one:  If it is (or if it is for an extended time) what does that mean to the executives and professionals in the midst of their career?  Forget about despair, that doesn’t wash in America.  We are a nation of over-comers and this is no different.  So what specifically are we being called to do?  Start the discussion!

 

As for me, think I’ll stop drinking hot cocoa for a while and skim directly to the sports section.

 

Danny Huffman, MA, CPRW, CPCC, CEIP

dhuffman@careersi.com

Education Career Services: http://www.educationcs.com

Career Services International: http://www.careersi

3 Comments »

  1. Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    Comment by Mike — March 1, 2009 @ 7:57 pm

  2. Thanks Mike, I always appreciate feedback and suggestions. If there are any topics you would like covered, do let me know and will respond accordingly. Being a professional and certified writer in career management, I have heard of and responded to just about everything you can imagine.

    Comment by careersi — March 2, 2009 @ 10:01 pm

  3. Are we a nation of “over-comers”? I think the sense of entitlement fostered by society and government has seriously changed the American work ethic. Too many people are unwilling to work for what they want. I work in placement at a career school and find there is great success to be had in this country. But, each individual must make a choice. What do I want and what am I willing to do to get it? Too often there is a great distance between the two that limits an individuals opportunity for success. They just sit back and blame others for their lack of success. I grew up with a father that had polio. I never saw him ask for, or expect, anything special…other than a parking space. Working with students now, I see every imaginable story and excuse to not do what is needed to be a success. My fear is that this downward spiral will continue as more and more people expect things to be handed to them. We must be the change we wish to see in the world!

    Comment by Ed Dodds — March 3, 2009 @ 12:10 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

