Education Career Services

September 10, 2009

Job Postings…an employer’s dilemma

September 10Last week I came to the decision that I need to beef up my writing department and look to hire one or two employees.  Okay, that was last week and I’ve held it off for about as long as I can.  Now it’s crunch time and no more side-stepping.

First thing this morning I came up with a little ditty for a job posting.  At this point one of the many problems always tends to raise an ugly head.  The posting must detail the job in as few words as possible; just enough to entice qualified candidates to respond.  Not an easy task due to fact that it can not be too general or I will receive a slew of resumes and cover letters from unqualified candidates, bogging down my review time and wasting too many hours sifting through a stack 20 inches tall. 

Fewness of words also has to do with the cost factor…that silly thing called the “bottom line” can become annoying.  Speaking of cost and after I come up with a proper posting, where do I submit it?  Does one go to hard copy newspapers (hitting Sunday hard) or does one go to the Internet?  Knowing the costs for both, at this time I am praying a professional network would come through and make a job connection…at this time, no connections have been made. 

I look at the posting, the options, and the need to increase our in-house staff and must make a decision quickly.  My bookkeeper steps in and informs me the price for a single job posting in the paper will exceed $1,000.  I now have her checking out the price for an Internet posting.  Tell you, simply looking for qualified candidates is an expensive ordeal.  No wonder that only 25% (roughly) of all job positions are not advertised!  

Looks like I will not be able to do any posting until further investigation.  On this note, the following is the details of my listing (if you know anyone in the Orlando area who may qualify, let me know as the bottom line seems to be nearing) and I could always use your helping hand:

Creative Director / Resume Writers needed.  Bachelors required and a desire to become part of a progressive career management firm.  Qualified candidates will possess strong business knowledge and writing/proofing/editing ability.

Full-time position, submit your resume today.”

I realize the information above is rather thin but hopefully it is enough to get attention.  Thus, let me ask you:  What job posting medium do you recommend? 

I will keep you up to date as this saga continues…

Danny Huffman, MA, CPRW, CPCC, CEIP
dhuffman@careersi.com
Education Career Services: www.educationcs.com
Career Services International: www.careersi.com

1 Comment »

  1. Hey all!

    My name is Steven and I am new around here :). So far this is an awesome source for information and Ive spent a lot of time reading and browsing around. Look forward to interacting with you!

    Comment by Fillantinee — September 27, 2009 @ 3:02 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

